School of Science and Technology

Contacts 01871637
Assoc Prof. Mphatso Kamndaya


The Faculty of Applied Sciences at the University of Malawi—The Polytechnic offers 30 programs, including diplomate, bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees. It is organized into four distinct but related departments, namely: Computer and Information Technology, Environmental Health, Mathematics and Statistics, and Physics and Biochemical Sciences. Altogether, the departments offer programs that cover the breadth and scope of the applied sciences. 

Academic Members of Staff  

Educated in Malawi and abroad, the dedicated academic members of staff under this faculty do not only teach modules in their respective departments but also service departments in other faculties at the Polytechnic. Notably, they conduct research that is both theoretical and applicable. For instance, research conducted in the Environmental Health Department on fecal sludge and other environmental issues has influenced government policies on environmental management. Also, they are actively involved in collaborative efforts with non-governmental organizations, the Malawi government, foreign governments, and faculty at other universities. Research conducted by academic members of staff in this faculty has been published in national and international journals.  


The Centre for Water, Sanitation, Health and Appropriate Technology Development (WASHTED) is housed under the faculty. The importance and relevance of this centre to research and other collaborative consultancies cannot be overemphasized. It has a team of researchers assembled from virtually every faculty at the Polytechnic. Moreover, although it operates from the Polytechnic Main Campus, it has a national and even global reach and impact, as it is engaged in issues to do with access to potable water, environmental management and protection, and renewable energy, just to name a few.  


School of Science and Technology Programmes